Bridge - Bangor Is-y-coed Bridge - North Wales.
|Bangor Bridge dates from about 1660,
it is a five-arched stone bridge believed to have been built by
Inigo Jones, it is believed to be of the same vintage as the bridge
at Llanwtyst and Llangollen, which are both attributed to Inigo
|The description of the Bridge as recorded in 1910
by the royal Commission on Ancient Monuments reads, "It is
very narrow the parapets being carried over the arches on each side
so as to afford eight triangular shelters for foot passengers, and
producing altogether a most pleasing effect". No one
could dispute that it is a very charming old bridge.
|Early records show that over the years the bridge
was repaired many times. In 1757 an account for £117.
1s. 2d. for bridge repairs in the Maelor included the sum of £23.
16s. 0d. for repairs to Bangor Bridge, and £116. 0. 0. for
strengthening the banks of the river Dee. The main damage
being caused by the frequent heavy flooding of the river.
Again in 1843 accounts showed that the bridge was again in need
of repair, this time at a cost of £109. 3s. 10d.
|Prior to the coming of the motor vehicle of course
the main users of the bridge were horse-drawn vehicles, farm carts
and pedestrians. By the 1900's with the arrival of motor vehicles,
further damage was caused to the bridge. In spite of the introduction
of traffic lights and weight restrictions, the bridge still suffered
as a result of traffic using it.
|In 1970, a petition requesting a By-pass for Bangor-on-Dee
was under way, and in 1978, a new Bridge and By-pass were completed,
leaving the old bridge with traffic "one-way" only.
It is to be hoped that this together with recent repairs will allow
the Bridge to survive for many more centuries.
All images on this web site are copyright, please see copyright
link for more information.